top of page

The man behind the Luckyclub name


Nearly two years have passed since the beginning of this blog and a big venture of my life. Growing up I was always surrounded by my brothers who were into cars and some of my best early memories are ripping around in our backyard or on some trails in an RT4WD Honda Civic Wagon. Just like them I feel like cars and the automotive world are just ingrained in my body. Finding out many years later the "car guy" bug was planted from my mother street racing her Pontiac Tempest in high school, which after hearing that story it all made sense as to why my brothers and I were so enthralled with anything we could do that made us go fast.

One of the first photos I ever took at a local meet / Self portrait with my first vehicle

After moving to the Boise, Idaho area roughly 10 years ago I started fresh in an place where a "car scene" wasn't very rampant. Much due to the population there wasn't much around in terms of easy shows to go to or super cars roaming the streets. Throughout school I was always driven around by friends or sitting at home as I wasn't able to get my license until I was 17 which also had a huge impact on my involvement with the sprouting local automotive scene. A few months before receiving my license I acquired a 1980 Datsun 720KC out of a field in the middle of Emmett, Idaho. I don't know about you but trying to bump start a truck with a CAT 636 Loader is an absolute riot. Getting that truck running and driving took nothing short of a new starter and alternator. Along the way I learned the basics of working on a vehicle and made a lot of mistakes along the way. Stick welding new floor pans in to get rid of the head sized rust holes being one of them, along with never changing spark plugs or getting the thing to even run correctly.


Now for those of you who aren't familiar, I have a love affair with Mazda Miatas. The truck was a blast to own and learn on but after riding in my friend Branson's yellow Miata (Pictured in the background above) I was hooked. My current count of Miatas owned is up to 5 out of the 12 cars in the four years since getting my license. To better understand the style I love most I've kept good track of my car history over the years - 1980 Datsun 720KC - 1992 Mazda Miata (auto to manual conversion) - 1986 Toyota Corolla Levin Import (Main article picture) - 1996 Mazda Miata - 1995 Mazda Miata M-Edition

- 1990 Nissan 300zx TT - 2001 Honda Civic - 1999 Mazda Miata - 1990 Volvo 740 Turbo - 1997 Lexus LS400 - 1996 Mazda Miata M-Edition - 2008 Honda Fit Sport


Growing more and more over the years I've come to love more race cars, supercars, and classics. However shown by my car history the Japanese market is my first love. Years of reading Speedhunters, watching Fast&Furious, and eventually moving on to watching many different Youtube creators has refined my knowledge and love of the automotive world. Being involved in the local community after getting my first Miata was really where I began to start pursuing automotive photography however. Being very familiar with Larry Chen in the golden age of Speedhunters I had a sense of what it took to really make an impact with my work. It's taken years of constant practice but through this I've been able to meet loads of friends, get involved with businesses, and get to experience the culture from a perspective not many get to see. My progression over the years has felt like a lifetime, but looking back on it now I can see just how much I've grown. From the awkward kid wielding a Nikon D3200 kit, blasting shots with wild settings at local car meets to see what works. To a prime lens on a mirrorless Sony panning hypercars going 200mph.


Through this website/brand I want to bring you my view of the automotive world through photos and writing. Creating products that I'd want to wear/run myself would help support trips to events, gear, and overall more content for you guys to enjoy! I appreciate each like, comment, and view that we get here so if you ever see TJ or myself never hesitate to say hi! Thanks for reading! - Josh Brown @luckyclub.us


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page